Midsummer Scream Provides the Scares of the Summer!

file2061299615784

Disclaimer: We’ve posted a lot about Midsummer Scream over the last couple weeks, and our coverage is now coming to a close. We decided it was time to share our final thoughts. Though, I’m the one writing this, we discussed our opinions together, so this article represents AHH as a whole. Now that we’ve got all of that out of the way, let’s get started!

This was the first year of Midsummer Scream, so there was great potential for disaster. However, the forces behind this new convention are experienced event coordinators. Their expertise coupled with excellent vendors, speakers, and haunts created an outstanding experience for Halloween enthusiasts. Midsummer Scream was perhaps the best convention I’ve ever attended. If I didn’t know it was the first year, I would’ve assumed it’s been going on for at least a decade.

A big part of what made Midsummer Scream such a spectacular event, was the venue. The Long Beach Convention Center was the perfect location. Sure it’s quite a trip for us Los Angeles dwellers, but the drive wasn’t too bad and Long Beach is a breathtaking area. The building has plenty of room, so everyone had space to breathe. It was also well air conditioned, which is a major step up from most conventions. (I’m talking to you, Monsterpalooza.)

In addition to the fantastic venue, Midsummer Scream also provided a huge supply of entertainment. All the local haunts were in attendance. Everyone from mainstream players like Knott’s Scary Farm and Halloween Horror Nights, to popular home haunts unveiled their plans for the 2016 season. Those who couldn’t wait for October could hit up the mini haunts in the Hall of Shadows. Of course it wouldn’t be a horror convention without the vendors. In the vendors hall, guests could find all sorts of freaky swag. To top it all off, those willing to spend a little extra could hit up the costumed dance party, headlined by Oingo Boingo.

I can’t say that I have any complaints about the convention. I’d be hard pressed to come up with anything I would change. Midsummer Scream was just what I needed to get me in the Halloween spirit, and I’m already looking forward to next year.

What did you think of Midsummer Scream? Be sure to let us know in the comments, or on any of our social media sites.

 

4 thoughts on “Midsummer Scream Provides the Scares of the Summer!

  1. Pingback: All Hallows Haunts review: Midsummer Scream Provides the Scares of the Summer! | Midsummer Scream

  2. I was at Midsummer scream and it was HORRIBLY hot especially on Saturday. Not sure what you’re talking about comparing it to Monsterpalooza which was honestly much better.

    Like

    • Also not sure the backstory on how Midsummer scream came about but it felt a lot like they were trying to copy ScareLA with programming and haunt area also felt like they tried to copy Son of Monsterpalooza with the gallery exhibit. I thought their were two good mini haunts in the Shadows area that I thought had cool spooky vibes but i can’t remember their names. I felt the lines were to long to get into them even though there weren’t many people waiting. Maybe 15-20 people waiting but the lines never moved. Even people who paid more money for front of the line seemed to be complaining so Im glad I didn’t pay extra for that. I got to go into maybe 5 haunts because some would never open which was weird I thought. Some other people said this also when I waited on the lines that there were haunts that never opened. I definitely didn’t think this show was perfect at all. I went to scarela the weekend after and felt the two shows were super similar.

      Like

      • Well I guess everyone’s experience is unique. I think all the horror conventions copy each other to some extent, because why mess with a proven formula? Those who run Midsummer Scream used to be part of the ScareLA team. The two split up, and obviously have bad blood. I’d agree with you that whenever mini haunts are present the lines get too long. It’s smart on your part to call attention to that. It’d be worth it for convention organizers to see what can be done. I’m not super into the little haunts, because I don’t think they can accomplish much with such little space/resources, although I do have an article coming up about one I thought was spectacular. I’ve got an article coming up about ScareLA too. I’m hoping to make it to Monsterpalooza coming up, but ya know how October is. Thanks for engaging!

        Like

Leave a comment