3 Horror Films I’m Thankful For

6a00d83451d04569e20105361f826c970b-800wi

With Thanksgiving weekend coming to an end, now seemed like the perfect time to analyze what horror films have had a major impact on my life. The films on this list will nod be judged by their popularity or even how good they are, rather this will be a list of personal significance. With that being said, let’s get rolling.

52eda5c4544174a7d019d6854a22236c

May– When I think of personal movies, the first film that comes to mind is May. Psychological horror films revolving around disturbed girls hold a dear place in my bloody heart. May came into my life at a time when I was practically hemorrhaging loneliness. To this day I feel like May is a kindred spirit. Ok, so she’s a bit more axe crazy than I am (a bit), but at her core, she’s just a sad, weird girl who wants a friend. From a filmmaking standpoint, Lucky McKee’s little gem taught me that horror films can be quirky, heartfelt, and creepy all at the same time.

2-1050x586

UzumakiTomie was actually my first introduction to Junji Ito. While I love Tomie, Uzumaki is the manga/film that most resembles my own spiral into madness. Confused? Let me explain. For as long as I can remember I’ve dealt with some form of OCD. My case is quite severe, and has been a major hindrance in my life. Uzumaki revolves around a town that becomes obsessed with spirals. Although, the characters in Uzumaki are being controlled by supernatural forces, and my own condition is related to brain chemicals, I still see parallels. The movie follows the manga fairly closely. It even retains its chapter format. I think fans of Lovecraft will embrace Junji Ito and his bizarre spiral fascination.

34138089574dbcc951eb155d4d5764b9

Freaks– Anyone that knows me knows I love a good circus. Whether it’s Cirque du Soleil or some barely functioning traveling circus, I love them all. Like May, Freaks, is  a heartwarming, yet gruesome tale of outsiders struggling to be who they are. The film stars actual freaks, and was considered quite shocking for its time. I applaud Tod Browning for taking such a controversial risk. Browning was a major player in Hollywood, but he was still an out of the box thinker. I hope to always show such courage in my own artistic feats.

There you have it, the top 3 horror films I’m thankful for. What  horror movies are you thankful for? Let me know in the comments, or on Facebook or Twitter. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

