Stan Lee’s Comic Con – The Weirdest Panel Ever Review

hqdefault

Photo From Horror Kung Fu Theatre

Ok, so maybe I’m a little behind, but I did manage to attend one day of Stan Lee’s Comic Con, formerly known as Comikaze. For the most part any Comic Con related event is geared towards sci-fi/fantasy, and Stan Lee’s Comic Con is no exception. Still, I was surprised by how much the convention had to offer horror/Halloween fans.

One of the major highlights of my day was attending a panel on TV horror hosts. This is where things took a turn for the weird, way weird. I expected the panel to feature a variety of horror hosts talking about their programs and taking questions from a large clapping audience, you know basic convention stuff. I should’ve known to expect the unexpected.

When my friend and I entered the conference room, we noticed that the place was a graveyard. The room was occupied by maybe ten people, including us. The next thing we observed was that there was only one guy in a black nylon mask seated at the speaker’s table. As we sat down, we were immediately ambushed by a guy with a video camera. I guess this man was tasked with filming the panel, but his method was more than a little bizarre. He decided he needed to get right up next to my friend’s face to film a profile of him. He proceeded to call him a “ginger” and tell him to smile. This went on for the entire duration of the panel. As this was going on, we discovered that our masked friend was The Nightshadow, the host of a 90s TV horror program known as Horror Kung Fu Theatre. He used to be a wrestler for the N.W.O. and he once had Vampira on his show.

This is about the extent of what I learned about him and his program, because the guy didn’t seem particularly interested in promoting himself. He did allow the audience to ask questions, but he wasn’t too enthused. I asked him if he thought there was room for a show like his on TV today. He said that reality TV has taught him that people like watching weirdos, and he had a lot of weirdos on his show, so he thinks there is.

After the lightning speed Q & A, there was a raffle. He bashed Comic Con for not announcing that he was giving out $200. I thought he was joking until he pulled the cash out of his wallet and handed it over to the girl with the winning number. Since the room was so scarcely populated, basically everyone won a prize. I won a Knott’s Scary Farm shirt. A number of people received shirts from The Asylum, the makers of Sharknado. As each person came up to receive their prize, The Nightshadow would make comments like, “You’re cute, but you’re too skinny.” Some may have found it offensive, but I was highly amused.

This was the strangest panel I’ve ever attended, and I loved every minute of it! I always enjoy listening to people talk about their shows/movies/etc., but sometimes it sounds forced and robotic. The Nightshadow was 100% authentic. I may not have learned too much about him but my interest was peaked, so I’ll be seeking out more about Horror Kung Fu Theatre. I expect it to be every bit as weird as my Comic Con experience.

Have you heard of Horror Kung Fu Theatre? What’s the weirdest panel you’ve ever attended. Hit me up in the comments or on Facebook or Twitter. Also be sure to check out the official website for Stan Lee’s Comic Con.

http://www.stanleeslacomiccon.com/

Leave a Reply

