Who Ya Gonna Call? Not Fall Out Boy.


In this day and age, there is an odd fear of originality. It’s as if the only safe approach is to make a sequel or to remake something all together. I drove past a movie theatre a few weeks ago and the marquee consisted of only sequels- Captain America: Civil War, Now You See Me 2, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2. Like I said, all sequels. What is with this fear of making something original?

One of the few saving graces when it comes to remakes or sequels is cover songs. There are many covers that are just as good, or better than the original. With that said, there are a few songs that should never be remade. They just can’t compete with the classic. The very thing can be said of one of the the greatest movie theme songs ever: “Ghostbusters” by Ray Parker Jr. for the classic hit movie, Ghostbusters.

However, just as the movie is being remade (Which I believe is a horrible mistake.), the movie’s theme song has also been remade. The new film’s cover is from Fall Out Boy. I can tell you with certainty and honesty- it is by far one of the absolute worst covers, and perhaps even songs, I have ever heard. It samples parts of the original song from Ray Parker Jr., but it’s mixed very poorly with Fall Out Boy’s lyrics and music. If you don’t believe me, check the video out for yourself.

The cover makes little sense, and is just bad. Really bad. Like, they should almost be ashamed for creating something that bad. I find it a travesty. While I’m a fan of Fall Out Boy, this song is so, so disappointing. It makes me wonder how bad the remake is going to be. I’m a huge fan of the first two Ghostbusters films. They are among my all time favorite films. I just feel that they shouldn’t have remade it. The trailers look awful and this just makes it even worse.

I don’t want to leave you all hanging on a bad note. So, to brighten up your day, here is the original theme song by Ray Parker Jr. Enjoy, and remember- Who ya gonna call?

Leave a Reply

